University description (as per official university website)
About the University
History of TVU
Thames Valley University became a university in 1992, but has over 140 years experience in technical and vocational education.
Our Ealing campus was founded in 1860 as the Lady Byron School.
The school was widely recognised for its work in art and design, and in 1950 the portfolio of courses was extended to include hotel, and catering and degree courses.
In the sixties it was designated a College of Higher Education, and ran the first ever degree in business studies.
Our Reading campus was formally Reading College and School of Arts & Design.
Reading Technical College was established in 1947 and, in the late 40s and early 50s, the College delivered Further Education programmes from over 30 locations in the town. In 1955 these departments were brought together on one site - our Kings Road campus.
Reading College and School of Arts & Design merged with Thames Valley University in January 2004 and became the Reading campus.
Our Slough campus was founded in 1907 as an elementary school.
By the forties it became a technical institute, and in the seventies, Thames Valley College of Higher Education.
In 1990, the College merged with Ealing College of Higher Education, Queen Charlotte's College of Health Care Studies and The London College of Music, to become the Polytechnic of West London.
Two years later, the Polytechnic became Thames Valley University.